Who Will Make It to Broadway?

Who Will Make It to Broadway?

If you weren’t able to catch all of the 49 Musical Theater performances put on by area high schools across the seven-county region of Central Florida, then don’t worry — we did it for you.

Our adjudicators, theater professionals who occupy their days working as actors, professors, producers, directors, arts administrators and stage managers, spent their nights and weekends from September through May watching shows and giving detailed critiques.  After traveling from Apopka to Melbourne and Osceola to Seminole they gathered in downtown. Armed with their notes and passion for the performances, they met at Dr. Phillips Center in late May to evaluate the results and choose the award-worthy productions. 

The result of that meeting will be a night of stand-out performances in a Dr. Phillips Center produced show, conceived and directed by director of education Dana Brazil, called The Applause Awards. The talent in Central Florida is truly amazing and seeing these students perform in group numbers, in their solo performances and in ensembles from their nominated shows, will leave you inspired and enlightened.

Even as these students make their regional debut in the Walt Disney Theater, the arts center’s Broadway-house stage, all the Outstanding Lead Performers will be waiting to hear who the committee has chosen to go on to Broadway.

One male lead and one female lead will be selected from the Orlando awards show to compete in the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (NHSMTA), also known as the Jimmy™ Awards. Named for James M. Nederlander, the legendary Broadway theater owner and producer, awards for Best Performance by an Actress and Best Performance by an Actor are awarded at the New York City ceremony. The ninth annual Jimmy Awards will take place on June 26, 2017 and will be hosted by Ben Platt, the Tony® nominated actor starring in the current Broadway hit Dear Evan Hanson.

Also competing this year is Clarissa Moon in the Student Reporter category.  Clarissa has launched a social media campaign on The Jimmy Awards Facebook page — if she gets the most likes and engagement through sharing and commenting, she could be the student chosen to report on the national awards in New York, along with our two lead performers. 

The Applause Awards takes place in the Walt Disney Theater on June 5, 2016 at 6 p.m.  Tickets for the show start at $19.75 and may be purchased by visiting the Dr. Phillips Center Box Office at 445 S. Magnolia Avenue, Orlando, FL 32801 between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, or 12 p.m. and 4 p.m. Saturday. Tickets are also available by calling 844.513.2014 or online at Online and phone ticket purchases include handling fees.